And so it begins…

It has begun. After years of desiring it, after years of having no ideas, it has come to me. I have an idea (even more than one idea) for…..lets just say it: a book. I have starting writing a book. So far I have 3 pages written. I know it’s very very small, but this is my start. I did research for a few months. Reading other writers’ blogs for tips and seeing how they are doing it. I looked for advice from all my favourite authors, which happen to be female and also happen to be Irish. No sure why, but that’s how it turned out.

I’ve decided to write an Author’s Log because there are so many questions and struggles with writing a book. I have seen many many blogs and other pieces where one of the biggest pieces of advice is inspired by Nike: “Just do it!” Just write the damn thing already. So that’s what I’m doing. Even if it’s not good, I’m going to do it. I’m giving myself one year from today to finish it (so by 1 March 2012 draft one should be complete). I should probably make the deadline a little sooner because one year is a bit long, but with this log I will keep track. I will keep track of my progress (i.e. how many pages I’ve written, what research I’ve done, or what I have done to move forward, even if I don´t write part of it every single day).

Progress so far:

1) The idea came from my everyday life. The location and the protagonist’s background resembles my own, but is not a regurgitation of my personal experiences. (Springing from the advice: “write what you know”).

2) Researched my favourite authors and other writers by reading their books and looking for tips.

3) 8 pages of notes, planning, outlines, parts of dialogue.

4) Officially wrote 3 pages of the story on 28 February 2011. The first three pages as I have forced myself to start from the beginning even though I have already written pieces from the middle in my “notes”.

5) Started an Author’s log to track my progress, to have an outlet for any frustrations I may encounter and to share with other writers my process from the beginning as there are few places I’ve found where you can read an author’s journey from start to finish.

And hopefully other writers will help me too. What I am surprised at, at this stage in (3 pages) is that the beginning is more interesting than I thought it would be. I wanted to start at the middle because its more interesting, but somehow as I starting writing a great character popped in based on two words of dialogue I had written in my notes “excuse me”. So far I like it, so hopefully I can keep this momentum going to write a full chapter. Wish me luck!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “And so it begins…

  1. Sure, I wish you Luck! We writers need it. But we need even more discipline…

Leave a Reply

