Non-writing work

Being Saturday I found that the day went by pretty fast. I visited another city and enjoyed the sun. I can’t say that I came up with another idea for my story, but I think part of being a writer is living in the world. I read many blogs lately where writers have mentioned how lonely they feel while writing their books. They talked about how they “lock” themselves in a room and won’t leave until they’ve written a certain number of pages.

Yesterday, was Friday and instead of going out for a night on the town I spent two hours on my novel, which translated to only two pages of written work. Of course, most of that time was devoted to re-reading and organizing, but I was working. So for me, it doesn’t work to set such a strict plan. Its more important for me to write a lot when I’m on a role and when I don’t feel like its going smoothly, I will do some research or read things that inspire me to keep going.

So today, I didn’t add any words directly to my novel, but I did do some “non-writing” work. I set up a Twitter account for this blog (you can see the tweets in the bottom right-hand corner of this blog). I also set up an email address just in case anyone wants to write something a little longer than a comment on a post or if they want to ask me questions or even just to talk about writing (or I should say write to me about writing). (The email address can be found on the About page).

Novel Writing Tip of the Day:

Don’t punish yourself for not hitting a page quota or dedicating a certain number of hours to your novel (unless you’ve really been taking too many breaks and self-punishment is necessary to keep going). It’s ok to take a break. I’m giving this “tip” as I am 5 pages ahead of my quota, but we will see how I feel when I’m struggling to make 10 pages per week.

What I’m trying to get at is that there is other work writers can do and probably should do which still contributes to their novel. Like taking a Saturday off work (especially if you have a full-time job and are writing in the evenings after work) and let your mind have a break. Let yourself have some time away from the computer screen. You may find that new ideas come to you, that you end up talking about your writing with a friend and that you feel like the work of writing isn’t so much “work” and it will be more fun. I know that when I take a day off from writing my novel that when I come back, I’m writing a lot because I’m excited to get going again.

Tomorrow, I will get down to business again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

