Writing on Autopilot

I started writing today after taking yesterday off. Yesterday, I had jotted down a few things that I wanted to cover in chapter 3. Looking at those sentences today, I realized that I only knew how I would like to end chapter 3 and start chapter 4. What could I write to fill in chapter 3? It couldn’t only be 4 pages long. The chapter didn’t feel like it accomplished anything substantial after 4 pages.

© Abdussadik | Dreamstime.com

So I started writing. I somehow turned on “autopilot” because words kept showing up on the screen and I wasn’t really pre-meditating them or planning where the story was going. I thought about the characters I had introduced in chapter 2. I needed to use them somehow because otherwise they would become obsolete. So I think I used these secondary characters (or at least I hope I used them) to give the reader more insight into the protagonist’s life and her thoughts.

While doing my daily research, I read that you shouldn’t write anything which isn’t contributing to the story. I was worried about feeling like I was on autopilot, I started thinking that this isn’t just something to fill chapter 3. Maybe I was just relaxed writing tonight. My previous hours of writing have been exciting and like I mentioned before, I was going all over the place. Maybe now I’ve caught the flow?

Progress so far:

  • 31 pages
  • My goal for week 2 (Monday March 14) was 20 pages, thus keeping with my 10 pages per week.

When I first started thinking about writing a book, the first thing that came to my mind was “where do I get an idea?” That was the biggest question. Now that I have one, I’m running with it. I can’t say that every single thing I’m writing is complete fiction. I have to rely on my life experience to write about the setting and the protagonist’s job. I think this is what is causing the “autopilot” feeling. I’m writing fiction based on an average working person’s day. That is where my “inspiration” has come from for today’s writing session. I just hope that this averageness isn’t boring to the reader.

But this is only the beginning. Its chapter 3 on draft 1, so I have a long way to go.

Have you ever had the feeling that you were writing on “autopilot”? What was the outcome? Was the writing useful? boring? Was it “filler” for the story?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

