Getting ahead of myself

While working on chapter 4, I found that I wanted to skip ahead and start writing parts of the next chapter. I’m not sure why this happened. I knew good parts were going to be written later so maybe I just wanted to skip right to them and start writing from there. I did it twice.

I wrote a paragraph or two for chapter 5 and then I stopped myself and went back to finish chapter 4. After I finished chapter 4 and was working on chapter 5, I skipped ahead again and wrote the introductory paragraph for chapter 6.

I think I’m getting a little ahead of myself, but when you’re on a role you’re on a role right? Maybe what happened was that I got ideas for the next chapters while I was writing the current chapter. I don’t think this is a bad thing.

Luckily the pages are getting filled. I wrote non-stop for about an hour maybe an hour and a half and it feels like I’ve been working for many hours. I also scrolled back and find that I only wrote a few pages even though it feels like I have written at least 10.

I guess this is what you call being “in the zone.” I tuned everything out and kept going even if there were noises from the street or other things that could be distracting I got a good chunk of writing time in.

Progress so far:

  • 47 pages
  • working on chapter 5

I feel like hitting page 50 will be a milestone. I’m not sure why, but it feels like a good point to be proud of.

When you were writing your first novel, when was your milestone? If you are writing your first novel, what do you think your milestone will be?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

