Plot, plot, plot

I was on a role. I had preplanned a few chapters in advance. As I started writing today, I realized that having one or two events planned per chapter isn’t enough to go off. Its hard to keep the plot going. How do you fill all the space between the scenes with engaging narrative? I need to entertain the reader while they read what’s going on in between the dialogue.

I guess the main problem comes down to the plot and character development. My characters have specific jobs and a good portion of the story takes place in an office. How exciting is that? Not. So what can the characters do that is interesting besides talk to each other? Reading about someone working is not entertaining, unless they are a sexy fashion editor, PR person or some other glamours job. And even then the writer has to be super creative in making the plot progress. I find myself writing similar things in each chapter because going to work is somewhat routine.

How do author’s write an interesting and entertaining story from beginning to end? There are a bunch of entertaining scenes, but how does the author move from one scene to the next while still keeping the readers attention?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Plot, plot, plot

  1. Ellie

    Depending on the planned length of the novel, you need to be creating enough sub plots. For example, I am writing an 80,000 word piece, with three sub plots. I would have liked four as a rule but I didnt feel it was necessary on this one.

    Oh and definitely never underestimate the beauty of interior thoughts. they can take you anywhere.

    If all else fails, write what you have, and then go back and see what the story needs. This was a valuable lesson that I learnt when script writing. I am currently applying this to creating more of a sense of place.

    How many sub plots do you have?

    • Your comment made me think. I examined by plot and I think I’ve found about 3 “sub-plots”. I have a 4th one as a back-up in case I need to bring it in, which I think I do because it will create more motivation for the protag and will also give the reader more information about the protag’s life. I think I need to find a better way to jump into the main plot. I keep repeating certain things because the protag re-enters the main plot at the same time of day (morning) in the same location. So I need to figure out a way to put the protag in the same location at a different time of day, like the afternoon for example. Who knew dealing with time was going to be so hard.
      Thanks for the comment!

      • Ellie

        Without knowing the synopsis it is hard to say what would work, but reading your comment I immediately though, ooh groundhog day. Each time it is like deja vu to your protag.

        Anyway, hope you do find a solution.

Leave a Reply

